Sonntag, 17. Juli 2016 | 15.00 Uhr
Sonderführung: Wissen & Staunen
Auf den Spuren der Droste durch Meersburg
In an idyllic setting, nestled in the vineyards that overlook the upper part of Meersburg, is the Prince’s Little House. It offers captivating views across Lake Constance – to the peaks of the nearby Alps. The Prince’s Little House was constructed around the year 1600 by the Canon of Constance Jacob Fugger, who later became the Prince-Bishop, and was used by the Prince-Bishops of Constance as a private refuge until the early 19th century, when much church property was officially annexed by the German states in the process known as “secularisation”.
The poet Annette von Droste-Hülshoff (1797-1848) eventually purchased the cottage and the surrounding vineyard at auction in 1843. She was delighted with her purchase, calling herself a “grand estate owner” and dreaming of converting the cottage into a home for herself in her older years. She wrote letters to her friends and family in which she gushed about her “priceless gem”.
Droste-Hülshoff’s heirs had the cottage converted into a memorial in 1923. The museum’s highlights include manuscripts, handwritten texts, early and first editions of her poems and personal possessions, such as jewellery and porcelain. It is also home to Droste-Hülshoff’s Biedermeier writing desk, birthplace of many of her literary works. The lovingly decorated rooms convey a vivid image of life in the Biedermeier era, and offer a private, behind-the-scenes glimpse at the famous poet.
The rooms of the museum have been carefully and lovingly decorated in a special way that provides an insight into the life of a noble woman and enable visitors to pay the famous poet a personal visit. The guided tours of the museum vividly bring the Annette von Droste-Hülshoff’s home environment back to life and contain a special highlight: a performance on the fortepiano. After all, Droste-Hülshoff was not only a talented poet, but also a keen musician.